How Does This Impact Your Privacy and Security?

In the interconnected online world, there are more and more platforms that provide secure encrypted email, VPN, cloud storage and other services. However, every time a new company appears, the following sentence will eventually appear: “Don’t use this service! It is hosted in a ‘Fourteen Eyes’ country, or worse, a ‘Five Eyes’ country or a ‘Nine Eyes’ country!” But who are the “Fourteen Eyes” countries? Most importantly, what are the privacy risks of using services hosted in “Five Eyes”, “Nine Eyes” or “14 Eyes” countries?

Your eyes are so big

Fourteen Eyes Countries

The Fourteen Eyes surveillance alliance is a group of national intelligence services that monitor and share people’s internet activities. The United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Norway, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Sweden, and Spain are all members of this alliance.

But before we begin to examine the structure Betting Data and operation of the Fourteen Eyes countries, we need to go back to the origins of the current global surveillance agency, which originated in World War II. The spy giant began its informal espionage activities at Bletchley Park during the British and American efforts to crack the German Enigma machine. The Anglo-American Agreement in March 1946 was the official beginning. With the addition of Canada, Australia and New Zealand, the alliance quickly grew.

Five Eyes Countries

The Five Eyes intelligence alliance consists of the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. It is one of the most active Algeria Phone Number List  multilateral agreements in the world, in which all partners monitor and share intelligence, including people’s internet activities.

The core national intelligence agencies are known as the “Five Eyes” (or FVEY): the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

During the Cold War, the “Five Eyes” were responsible for collecting intelligence against the Soviet Union, with different countries operating in specific locations around the world. Later, other countries also participated in the Five Eyes intelligence gathering operations, and they are usually referred to as third parties.

It was the activities of the “Five Eyes” that later gave rise to the “Five Eyes+”, “Six Eyes”, “Nine Eyes”, “Fourteen Eyes” and other third-party organizations.

What are “5 Eyes”, “9 Eyes”, and “14 Eyes”? List of surveillance partner countries

  1. **Five Eyes Countries:** The United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.
  2. **Five Eyes+ Countries: **Five Eyes+ is an information sharing network between the Five Eyes, France, Germany, and Japan, with the goal of countering threats from China and Russia.
  3. **Six Eyes Countries: **Six Eyes was a failed agreement between the Five Eyes, France, Israel, Singapore, South Korea, and Japan. However, the agreement ultimately failed due to opposition from the Director of the CIA and President Obama.
  4. **Nine Eyes Countries: **Nine Eyes is an intelligence-sharing partnership between the Five Eyes countries plus Denmark, France, the Netherlands, and Norway.
  5. **Fourteen Eyes Countries: **Fourteen Eyes is an extension of Nine Eyes, adding Germany, Belgium, Italy, Spain and Sweden.